1. The United States government operates as a federal system, with power divided between the federal government and individual state governments.

2. The U.S. government is composed of three branches: the legislative branch (Congress), the executive branch (President and administrative agencies), and the judicial branch (Supreme Court and federal courts).

3. The U.S. Constitution is the supreme law of the land and outlines the framework for the U.S. government, including the separation of powers and individual rights.

4. The President of the United States is both the head of state and head of government.

5. The U.S. Congress is made up of two chambers: the House of Representatives (435 members) and the Senate (100 members).

6. The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the land and has the power to interpret the Constitution and determine the constitutionality of laws.

7. The United States has a system of checks and balances to prevent any one branch of government from becoming too powerful.

8. The Bill of Rights, the first ten amendments to the Constitution, outlines important individual rights, such as freedom of speech, religion, and the press.

9. The U.S. government has a long history of expanding voting rights, including the 15th, 19th, and 26th amendments, which extended voting rights to African Americans, women, and 18-year-olds, respectively.

10. The U.S. government plays a leading role in international affairs, including through organizations such as the United Nations, NATO, and the World Trade Organization.